Life

It already seems like it’s been a year since I was on vacation having lovely vacation sex with my husband, instead of just a few weeks ago. The day we returned home –to a joyous reunion with our kids–was also the day we went our separate ways again. We’ve had a rotating schedule of family visiting us most of the summer. And between our visitors and our normal daily activities (twice weekly sanity-saving roller derby workouts for this mom give us less time together at night), we are back to our regular tag-team marathons where days can go by without us checking in and conversing, much less being physically intimate.

Seriously, forget sex. Just some kissing would be nice.

Life sucks. Not really, but I hate feeling like I’m my husband’s roommate instead of his partner and lover. And it’s very easy to feel that way when you have two little ones at home, and opposite schedules. And opposite schedules mean that when he feels up for it, I absolutely do not. (This feeling is not mutual.)

We took advantage of my aunt’s visit and went for a walk last night after the kids were in bed. It felt like I hadn’t seen him in weeks, even though I’ve seen him everyday. It was the first time we’d talked about more than the kids, or dinner, or bills–or that we’d spent time together–since we got back from vacation. I felt the emotional connection to him that I’d been missing.

So we made out in a dark corner like teenagers. It was nice.

What things in your life make emotional connections with your partner difficult? What do you do to reclaim intimacy when life gets in the way?

Leave a comment